Double Day

Today we tried something we haven’t ever done before.  I was fully prepared for it not to happen but I wanted to try it anyway.

We squished two days worth of work into one day.  We were “behind” since we took Wednesday off and day 5 of this week was a light day anyway so I figured maybe we could just get it all done today.

It actually worked remarkably well.  Big Kid didn’t get overworked, neither did I other than needing to read a LOT from Poppy.

Math was Fred, just one chapter.  That is something I didn’t double up on today.  He enjoyed it and read it aloud to Little Kid.

Science was a chapter in Tarantula that BK read to himself quietly.  He really enjoyed it and it was a great practice for him to keep reading to himself.

For history we finished The 5,000 Year Old Puzzle.  It was a good book that had a lot of interesting information.  It wasn’t terribly “heavy” though so that was nice.  It was history without feeling like it.

Poppy was awesome.  I read them three chapters from it and we learned something VERY important.  Mr. Ocax is a LIAR!  BK was more than pleased to point that out to me once we learned that porcupines don’t eat mice.  It is a really, really fun book.  I enjoy it a lot and so do the kids.  I couldn’t be more pleased with Build Your Library for including it as I am not sure we would have found it on our own.

We also did some copy work today.  I thought about doing the usual questions for Poppy to combine reading with handwriting but since there was over 20 pages of the book to read I figured that would be enough.  Below is a quick photo of BK’s copy work.  His handwriting isn’t perfect but it is much improved from the start of our homeschooling.

photo (26)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

