Back Again!

Okay, so, I haven’t written in about 6 weeks.  The truth of the matter is I haven’t had the brain power to do much of anything by the time the kids go to bed at night so I will take the chance to update now…and there are quite a few updates to be done!

1. For those that don’t know (I am guessing a lot of my normal readers know but people that stumble on the blog via search engines etc don’t) I am currently pregnant and due at the end of August.  It is a great deal of why my brain power and energy haven’t been up to par with keeping the blog updated.

2. Little Kid finished school last week.  She chose to be homeschooled for 1st grade so she will be joining in on our schooling.  I am VERY excited to have her back home with us and even more excited at being able to make our own schedule vs having to work around the bus schedule etc.

3. The kids both have 3 weeks of camp this summer so we are going to continue doing schoolwork but I am modifying things slightly for the summer.

The plan of attack for this summer looks something like this:

Excel Math for both kids.  A worksheet a day on the weeks there is no camp.  I got 1st grade for LK and 3rd grade for BK.  This will help keep them up to par on math without requiring a lot of in depth lessons for the summer.

First Language Lessons.  I am planning on doing this from the very beginning with both kids at the same time.  A lot of it may be “easy” for BK but I haven’t done any formal grammar lessons with him and it will be easier to just keep them on the same page, so to speak.

Lunch time reading.  I plan on reading a chapter book to them over the course of the summer during lunch time.  We are going to start with Jurassic Park.  We will read that for as long as it takes then I will pick something else.

Moving Beyond the Page.  I got BK the water cycle unit and the Charlotte’s Web unit.  BK and LK will both do the water cycle activities and BK will do Charlotte’s Web on his own, though I may have him read aloud to LK.  I haven’t decided yet.

Phonics.  I will continue to work with LK on phonics/reading skills over the summer in hopes of having her be a pretty decent self reader by the time fall gets here.  We have Explode the Code and we also have a couple of word family books to work with as well as many Leap Frog reader phonics books.  She has a pretty good grasp on all this already but I want to be sure her confidence is there by this fall.

In all, I expect it to be a busy summer.  Once we get back into the swing of things after this baby is born I got a unit of Moving Beyond the Page for LK and we will resume the work on Build Your Library with BK (we have gotten as far as week 27 of Grade 2).  It is just easier to have things that are more simple to transition into/out of for the summer when the schedule can be all over the place and when I will be having good days and bad.

So there you have it!  Nothing to fancy or exciting I am afraid, but I am still here and will try my best to keep the blog a bit more updated!  This week both kids are at a TKD camp and are *loving* it, which is awesome.  I am hoping they will want to sign up for lessons this fall as it will help LK with her confidence and BK with his focus.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

